Ten open programs fit a Toronto solo founder now: cloud credits up to US$350,000, C$5,000 Toronto cash, and one rare-disease deadline on 2026-10-31

Asked (summary):

What grant programs, funding opportunities, or startup credits can a Canadian solo founder in Toronto apply for right now — for an AI agent infrastructure startup and a rare-disease health information project? For each: program name, amount or range, eligibility, deadline or rolling, and what it funds.

From 19 screened rows (as of 2026-09-23), 10 opportunities are open, Toronto-accessible and on-topic: 3 direct Canadian cash or financing programs, 2 rare-disease health-information calls, and 5 startup infrastructure credit programs. Amounts stay in their stated currency (CAD or USD) and are never summed; cloud credits and repayable loans are labelled as such, not called grants. Excluded rows include the Quebec-only Regional AI Initiative, duplicate and historical Futurpreneur variants, and pharma calls off-topic for a health-information project.

What each program is worth, and how hard the door is to open

Disclosed maximum value per program, in its stated currency. Bar colour = money type; the strip left of each bar shows how directly a solo founder can apply. Hover or tap a bar for eligibility, timing and funded uses. Two rare-disease calls disclose no amount and are shown as dashed placeholders.
Cloud credits (US$) Grant (C$) Loan financing (C$) Amount not publicly specified strip: direct strip: direct with tests strip: organization/partner needed
The Roche Canada rare-disease call is the only hard deadline in the set — Cycle 3 closes 2026-10-31 with a panel decision 2026-11-12 — and it funds SMA and hemophilia education and knowledge translation, but requests must come from an eligible organization. funding.canada.roche.com
AWS Activate is the only credit program in the rows stating no incorporation, funding, age, referral or geographic requirements — the cleanest direct path for a solo founder, up to US$100,000. aws.amazon.com
The largest awards carry the heaviest gates: Google's US$350,000 favours AI startups tied to firms like Lightspeed, Sequoia or Y Combinator; Cloudflare's US$250,000 requires founding in 2019–2024 and US$50,000–5,000,000 raised; Microsoft's US$150,000 unlocks only through registered-entity verification and sustained Azure usage. learn.microsoft.com
Toronto's Starter Company Plus is the one local cash grant (C$5,000 plus training and mentoring), but it demands residency, 35+ hours/week on the business, no other employment, and a registered business — and stream intake timing must be confirmed. toronto.ca

Apply-first sequence

  1. Roche Canada rare-disease call, before 2026-10-31 — only if the project fits SMA or hemophilia education and you can apply through an eligible organization per Roche's funding-resource rules.
  2. Starter Company Plus — only if the current Toronto stream is accepting applications and every test is met (residency, 35+ hours/week, no other employment, registered business, owner criteria).
  3. Direct cloud-credit applications — AWS Activate first (fewest stated requirements), then Google for Startups Cloud Program / Start tier, Cloudflare (if age and funding tests fit) and Microsoft for Startups.
  4. Futurpreneur Core Startup Program — if aged 18–39; remember this is repayable loan financing with mentorship, not a grant.

Caveat: statuses reflect the screened rows as of 2026-09-23 — confirm each live portal before submitting, and treat every "not publicly specified" amount as neither unrestricted nor guaranteed.

All ten opportunities

ProgramTypeAmount / rangeWho can applyDeadline / statusFundsSource

Method: 19-row screened dataset of grant, financing and startup-credit programs compiled for a Toronto solo founder, as of 2026-09-23; 10 rows shown after removing the Quebec-only Regional AI Initiative, three duplicate/historical Futurpreneur variants, and four pharma or research calls off-topic for a rare-disease health-information project. Bars show each program's disclosed maximum value in its stated currency (CAD or USD, never converted or summed); loans are repayable and credits are in-kind, not cash. Eligibility and funded-use text is condensed from the source rows; confirm live portal status before applying.

This report was generated automatically by Keenable SELECT at a user's request, from publicly available web sources linked herein. Keenable does not review, verify, or endorse its contents and makes no representation as to accuracy, completeness, or timeliness; AI-based extraction may contain errors. Nothing in this report is investment, legal, financial, or other professional advice. All trademarks and referenced content remain the property of their respective owners; no affiliation or endorsement is implied. To report an error, rights concern, or request removal: legal@keenable.ai.

Keenable SELECTAsk your own question
Made with Keenable SELECT