47 of 65 screened accelerator programs are verifiably investing now, run by 28 operators worldwide
Asked (summary):
Conduct a global, English-language study of leading, actively investing startup accelerators over the three years to 2026-10-22, focused on programs where teams of 1–10 people at idea, prototype, MVP, pre-seed or early-seed stage can apply and potentially receive direct early-stage investment — distinguishing organization models, verifying recent activity across 12 world regions, collecting funding terms, eligibility, format, deadlines and links, with a transparent leadership methodology, geographic tables, profiles, founder shortlists, exclusions and data gaps.
The screened database holds 65 program entries across 28 unique operator organizations; 47 entries are classified as actively investing in the research window (2023-10-22 → 2026-10-22, with extra weight on the last 12 months), while 18 are operating but their investment frequency is unclear. Entries are program profiles, not independent operators — global networks like Antler, Techstars and Tenity carry several materially distinct local or sector programs. This is broad, evidence-backed coverage, not a claim of exhaustive coverage; coverage is strongest in North America, Europe and multi-region footprints, and thinner regions and undisclosed terms are called out rather than padded.
Coverage by region: program entries by activity status
Each bar segment is one program entry. Hover a segment to see the programs behind it. Caution: these are program profiles, not independent operators — one organization may appear in several regions.
Actively investing (47) — verified recent cohort or new-investment evidenceOperating, investment frequency unclear (18) — excluded from the active ranking
Startmate is one of the clearest guarantees in the set: AUD $120,000 invested at acceptance into every accepted startup, at a disclosed AUD $1.5m post-money valuation — startmate.com.
Techstars reported 51 new investments in June 2026 alone, the strongest single recent-activity datapoint in the set — techstars.com.
Only 24 of 65 entries disclose guaranteed initial cash; 43 carry selective or conditional funding language, so acceptance rarely equals a cheque — e.g. Antler's €200K wires only on an investment-committee decision — antler.co.
14 entries carry mandatory fees or fee-like equity: Accelerating Asia charges a US$35k program fee plus 3% equity deducted at investment — acceleratingasia.com.
Executive summary and date boundaries
Research date 2026-10-22; exact window 2023-10-22 through 2026-10-22, with special weight on 2025-10-22 through 2026-10-22. Searches ran in English plus local-language discovery terms, prioritizing official current program pages. The 47 "actively investing" entries show dated cohort launches, open applications tied to named cohorts, or announced new investments inside the window. The remaining 18 are operating but lack dated new-investment evidence; they appear in the appendix, not the active ranking. Common barriers visible in the rows: required in-person attendance or relocation (11 entries state a relocation/attendance rule), incorporation or geographic restrictions, selective rather than guaranteed investment, full-time founder commitment, co-founder expectations, sector restrictions, and undisclosed current cheque or equity terms.
Methodology: what "leading" means here
Verified recent activity — dated cohort or new-investment evidence, weighted to the last 12 months; a live application page without a dated investment announcement is weaker evidence than a named new cohort investment.
Accessibility to very early teams — idea/pre-seed stages, small teams, solo founders.
Term transparency — guaranteed versus selective or conditional cash, disclosed equity/instrument.
Support and investor-network evidence, and verifiable outcomes only where the row supports them.
International accessibility — geography, incorporation, relocation rules.
Tiering is qualitative (A/B/C/D), not a league table. No program is called "easy to enter". Eligibility, guaranteed funding, deadlines, fees or relocation rules are never inferred from silence; "not disclosed" stays unresolved. New cohort investments are kept separate from follow-ons, historic portfolio totals, fund sizes, grants, credits and services. Confidence is labeled per row (24 high, 40 medium, 1 low).
Geographic comparison
Regions in the requested order, plus "Global or multiple regions" and "Not disclosed". Coverage is uneven by design — it reflects what the evidence supports, not forced parity.
Region
Entries
Actively investing
Unclear frequency
Guaranteed cash disclosed
Example operators
Master database: 65 program entries
Filter and sort; click a row to expand full terms, requirements, activity evidence and what to verify. Each row links its primary source and, where present, the application page.
Organization
Program
Region
Tier
Status
Guaranteed cash
Conf.
Source
Detailed profiles: programs with concrete or complex terms
Prioritized: rows with guaranteed cash, transparent equity/instrument, conditional tranches, mandatory fees, or relocation/incorporation complexity. Operator base, program place, applicant geography and incorporation are distinguished per profile.
Founder shortlists
Built from the per-row shortlist tags. For each program: why it fits, its most important limitation, and what to verify before applying. None of these are "easy to enter".
Leadership tiers A–D
Exclusions, cautions and data gaps
18 entries are "operating but investment frequency unclear" — they lack dated new-investment evidence in the window and are excluded from the active ranking (filter the master table by status to see them). Examples include TinySeed (applications reopen February 2027; last dated cohort referenced is Fall 2022) and several Founders Factory and Plug and Play entries.
Selective funding is the norm: 43 of 65 entries describe selective or conditional funding; being accepted into a program is frequently not the same as receiving investment (e.g. AppWorks and Accelerating Asia state this explicitly).
Scope exclusions: conventional VCs without an accelerator program, and programs offering only mentoring, credits, discounts, prizes or grants, were not treated as direct-investment accelerators.
Data gaps: 41 entries do not disclose guaranteed initial cash; many omit current equity terms, deadlines or relocation rules. 11 regional labels are "Not disclosed" or missing. 40 rows carry medium confidence and 1 low; several are single-source. Gaps are left unresolved rather than filled by inference.
Founder diligence checklist
Confirm the current cheque size and instrument (SAFE, priced equity, convertible, ARC) — pages age quickly.
Confirm whether every accepted participant receives the investment, or only those passing an investment committee.
Equity, dilution mechanics and any side letters or advisory-share agreements.
Mandatory fees, fee-equity, and any repayment or clawback conditions.
The actual application deadline and cohort dates.
Visa and residency implications of in-person requirements.
Incorporation jurisdiction demands (e.g. US Delaware C-Corp) and reincorporation cost.
Relocation or mandatory-attendance weeks, and who pays.
IP obligations entered during the program.
Whether an announced cohort is actually receiving new capital, not follow-ons or historic portfolio totals.
Method: screened research database of 65 deduplicated accelerator program profiles across 28 operator organizations, compiled for research date 2026-10-22 over the window 2023-10-22 to 2026-10-22; 47 entries classified actively investing on dated cohort/new-investment evidence. Rows span 28 independent primary-source hosts; no single URL backs more than half of rows; source counts are page counts, not investment counts. Values marked "not disclosed" remain unresolved. For space, long free-text fields are shown in expandable rows and profiles; grants, credits and services are kept separate from investment.