112 public tennis listings across 18 cities — only 7 publish all four facts a player needs
Asked:Find all public tennis courts in the South Bay and Peninsula. For each facility list the city, number of courts, hours, fees, and how to book it.
An official-web inventory of 112 public tennis facility listings across 18 cities in Santa Clara and San Mateo counties (San Francisco excluded), gathered from city and agency pages on September 3, 2026. Blank cells mean the detail was not stated on the official pages found — not that a court is free, unrestricted, or walk-on.
What each city actually publishes
Every listing, grouped by city. A filled cell means the official page states that fact; hover any row for the exact wording. Court counts are printed in the first column.
stated on official pagenot published◆ possible duplicate of another row▪ joint-use / school site! verify this listing
Redwood City is the model: all six of its facilities — Red Morton (4 courts), Andrew Spinas, Dolphin, Marlin, Mezes and Shorebird (2 each) — are explicitly free, dawn to dusk, first come, first served. redwoodcity.org
The one fully bookable court block: Burton Park in San Carlos — 3 courts, 8 a.m.–8 p.m., $19.50 per 1½-hour block, reserved online at least 48 hours ahead. cityofsancarlos.org
The biggest venues: Sunnyvale Tennis Center (16 courts), Cuesta Tennis Center in Mountain View (12), Santa Clara Tennis Center and Rengstorff Park and Morgan Hill Community Park (8 each). Mountain View publishes counts and hours for all six of its sites. mountainview.gov
The gap: only 26 of 112 listings state a court count, 48 state hours, 27 state fees and 10 state how to book — just 7 listings carry all four. Palo Alto publishes a city-wide fee ($5–$10 per court per hour for residents) but no per-site counts. cityofpaloalto.org
Full directory
Exact text from official pages. “Not published” means the page found does not state it — check the link before travelling.
City
Facility
Courts
Hours
Fees
Booking / access
Source
Verify this listing. Three San José rows — “Homeward”, “Frontier Trail” and “Castle Glen Picnic Area” — carry tennis hours on official pages but their labels do not clearly name a tennis venue; treat them as low-confidence extractions and confirm on the linked page. Rows tagged ◆ likely describe the same physical place under two names (e.g. Boothbay Park vs. Boothbay Tennis Courts, Santa Clara Tennis Center vs. the center at Central Park) — never sum their court counts. School sites are joint-use: public access depends on the school schedule.
Method: official-web inventory of 112 facility listings across 18 cities in Santa Clara and San Mateo counties, compiled September 3, 2026 from city, parks and school-district pages (1–4 official pages per listing). Hours, fees and booking text are quoted verbatim; blank cells were not stated on the pages found. This is not a real-time availability guarantee — closures, lessons, leagues, school use, lighting, residency rules and fee schedules change; follow the source link before travelling.